About: The Hurtubise House is the oldest building in Westmount. It was built in 1739 for Jean Hurtubise, son of Louis Hurtubise who, in 1699, bought the land located on Côte-Saint-Antoine Road, at the corner of Victoria Avenue. Six generations of the Hurtubise family lived in this old house until Leopold Hurtubise, the last of homeowners, died in 1955. In 1956, the Hurtubise House became the first property which CHQ saved from demolition and its protection is now ensured indefinitely.
The Hurtubise House can be visited by appointment only. more information >
About: Since 1965, CHQ has ensured the preservation of four historic buildings on Cap Mont-Joli, near Percé Rock. This emblematic site of Quebec was declared a provincial heritage site in 1973. It offers a breathtaking view overlooking Percé Rock and Bonaventure Island.
Located on Cap Mont-Joli, the Wexford Manor (39, du Mont-Joli) is a large house of French style architecture, built in 1926 as a summer residence. On the other side of the small road are the Laberge House (36, du Mont-Joli) and the Captain's Cottage (38, du Mont-Joli).
These CHQ properties can be rented for summer holidays, and are perfect for couples, families or small groups. more information >
About: Built around 1790, this building has changed very little over the past 220 years, despite the fact that the property was subdivided in the early twentieth century and sold to different owners over the years. Of all seigneurial mills built in Quebec, few have retained their functions and mechanisms. The Seigneurial Mill of Les Éboulements is one of these rare examples.
In 1962, the Canadian Heritage of Quebec became the owner of the mill and its outbuildings. In the 80’s, the mill was fully restored and, in 1993, it was opened to the public as a fully functional operating mill that produces stone-ground wholemeal flour. The St. Nicholas Processional Church, classified as a heritage building by the MCC, is located at the entrance of the property. The building was originally built in the village of St. Nicolas (today Lévis) and was saved from demolition when it was donated to CHQ. It was then moved to this site. In 2009 and later in 2012, the roof and walls of the mill were restored. This restoration project was jointly funded by CHQ and the MCC. In 2010, the seigneurial mill and its outbuildings were designated as a heritage site by the municipality. more information >
About: Built in the late eighteenth century, the Domaine Pointe-Saint-Vallier is located near the town of Saint-Vallier on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River. This unique heritage site, a reflection of the seigneurial era, includes a stately manor house and a barn, as well as wooded areas and fields sheltering a vast wealth of wildlife. This historic site is a must see!
The Canadian Heritage of Quebec acquired this property in 1999 in collaboration with the Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC), Quebec region. NCC protects wildlife habitats and plant species on the site while CHQ ensures the preservation of the manoir and other buildings. These conservation initiatives are also in partnership with the Corporation du Domaine Pointe-de-Saint-Vallier which looks after the development of this site and the organization of summer activities with a team of volunteers.
In 2011, CHQ fully funded a project to restore the manoir. This restoration work enabled the replacement of a “tôle à la canadienne” metal roof, the repair of exterior wooden galleries, as well as repairs to the structure of the ground floor.
About: Along the shores of the Lake of Two Mountains, the Greenwood Centre for Living History is a historic site that dates back to 1732. For over 250 years, the house and gardens have always been a focal point for the community of Hudson. Greenwood was bequeathed to CHQ by Phoebe Nobbs Hyde, the last of the fifth generation to live in the house. Ms. Hyde wanted the historic character of the house to be maintained and open to the people of Hudson and surrounding areas. Thus, thanks to her generous contribution, the Greenwood Centre for Living History was born.
In 2012, the lobby area has been beautifully restored and enriched with new lighting that enhances the treasures of this magnificent house. The furniture and antique collections give a good insight into the lifestyle of those who lived here over the last three centuries.
The Greenwood garden is the jewel of this property. Adorned with vibrant colors from early spring until late fall, it is open to visitors who can admire the vast expanses maintained by the family for over a century. The Greenwood Centre is managed by a Board of Directors made up entirely of volunteers.
About: Built in 1829, the Fraser Manor was classified as a heritage site by the MCC in 1991. It includes the Manor, several outbuildings and land. Through its political and economic commitment, the Fraser family has made a significant mark on the history of the Rivière-du-Loup County. Since its purchase by Lord Alexander Fraser in 1834, the seigneurial Manor has hosted four generations of this illustrious family. CHQ acquired the house in 1979 and in 1996 it was restored and is now open to the public as a heritage interpretation centre.
While highlighting a multitude of architectural details that make the Fraser Manor a unique heritage site, its restoration has enabled the reconstruction of the interior and has thus recreated the atmosphere of a bourgeois house from the early 20th century. A visit to the Fraser Manor will allow you to relive and to absorb the colorful past of Rivière-du-Loup. You will also be charmed by the beautiful landscaped garden.
If you have time, you can continue your walking tour and visit the St. Bartholomew's Anglican Church and the cemetery where Lord Alexander Fraser was buried.
Interpretation tours and site maintenance activities are managed by the Board of Directors and volunteers of the Société de sauvegarde du patrimoine du Grand-Portage.
About: Acquired by CHQ in 1981, this house was the summer residence of the first Prime Minister of Canada, Sir John A. Macdonald, from 1873 to 1890. Like most citizens of that era, he used to travel by train to the Lower St. Lawrence to breathe the ocean air and enjoy the countryside.
The John A. Macdonald House is located in the historic area of St. Patrick in the county of Rivière-du-Loup, where several generations of many prominent families in the history of Quebec have stayed during the summer. The house has retained its original character inside and out, and a beautiful gallery allows visitors to catch a breathtaking view of the St. Lawrence River and the North Shore mountains. more information >
About: This building is one of three houses built in the 1860’s, by John Evan Price, along the north side of the road leading up from the Tadoussac village wharf at l’Anse-à-l’Eau. Only two of the houses remain. When they were built, the economy of Tadoussac was undergoing fundamental changes. The Price Company’s sawmill had closed in 1848 when local wood resources had been exhausted, and the industry moved further up the Saguenay River. The Municipality of Tadoussac was beginning to rely on the fast-growing tourism sector.
Today, the property can be rented as a holiday summer house for families or small groups. more information >
The Canadian Heritage of Quebec owns approximately 25 buildings and sites which have a natural or cultural heritage value in the Province of Quebec. Many of CHQ’s properties are listed on the Répertoire du patrimoine culturel du Québec (www.patrimoine-culturel.gouv.qc.ca)
- Hurtubise House, Westmount. Heritage site and building; provincial designation in 2004.
- Simon Fraser House. Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue. Heritage site and building; provincial designation in 1962.
- Frost Church, Waterloo.
- The Domaine Pointe-de-Saint-Vallier, Saint-Vallier. Heritage site; municipal designation in 1998.
- Seigneurial Mill of Les Éboulements. Heritage building; municipal designation in 2010.
- La chapelle de procession de St-Nicolas, Les Éboulements. Heritage Building; provincial designation in 1961.
- Molson-Beattie House, Tadoussac.
- Pointe-Sauvage & Bon Désir Farm, Bergeronnes.
- Pointe-à-Boisvert, Les Escoumins.
Lower St-Lawrence/Gaspésie Areas:
- Sir John A. Macdonald B&B, Rivière-du-Loup. Heritage site; municipal designation in 2003.
- Fraser Manor, Rivière-du-Loup. Heritage building; provincial designation in 1991.
- Cap Mont-Joli and its buildings, Percé. Heritage site; provincial designation in 1973. Captain’s Cottage, Laberge House and Wexford Manor.
- Cap Barré, Percé. Heritage site; provincial designation in 1973.
- Rivière-Madeleine site, Rivière-Madeleine.
Among the properties listed above, some houses are open to visitors and some may even be rented during the summer. The summer operations and activities are mainly managed by local partners from non-profit organization who are also committed in the fields of culture or nature. The collaboration of these partners is also a key factor in the development of these properties.
Information on CHQ’s restoration projects
It is our pleasure to provide this information on CHQ’s restoration projects in 2011 and 2012, during which period we invested nearly $1M to preserve its properties, including the following restoration projects:>
We take this opportunity to emphasize, once again, the outstanding quality of work completed by the architects, engineers, archaeologists and curators who collaborated on these projects. We also thank all our wonderful partners and volunteers for their involvement in these projects. A special thanks to the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec (MCC) and the City of Montreal for their financial support which was very much appreciated in the realization of some of these projects.
Finally, our sincere thanks to all of you, our members and friends, for your support and donations which are a very important contribution to the realization of our mission dedicated to the preservation of Quebec’s heritage.
The Canadian Heritage of Quebec: over 50 years of expertise in heritage conservation in Quebec
The Canadian Heritage of Quebec: over 50 years of expertise in heritage conservation in Quebec
Since its founding in 1960, The Canadian Heritage of Quebec (CHQ) has favoured a professional approach in its interventions in order to preserve and maintain the integrity, the authenticity and the spirit of each of its properties. Also, CHQ promotes collaboration with professionals specializing in heritage restoration to better guide and implement its projects. CHQ adopts a step-by-step approach.
Prior to any intervention, for example, extensive studies are done to make the best choices in restoration work. This means more time and money, but ensures preservation of historical information and maintains building integrity and spirit. Partnership with the community is another important aspect of CHQ’s approach. CHQ collaborates with government and municipal institutions which support our conservation work by their expertise and/or financial support.
For over 50 years, Canadian Heritage of Québec has preserved, maintained and implemented restoration projects on many unique heritage sites in Quebec. Its activities are mainly funded by donations from foundations and the public as well as from revenues generated through its summer operations.>
Financing future projects of the CHQ>
In 2012, CHQ conducted an audit on the Sir John A. Macdonald House in Rivière-du-Loup and on the Percé buildings. As a result, new restoration projects will soon be put forward in order to preserve these heritage properties. This is why your donations are greatly appreciated and very important to CHQ’s mission.
You can make donations through the following link Become a Friend or by contacting us through email at email@example.com. CHQ will issue official donation receipts for income tax purposes (108075292 RR0001).
More about Why and How to support CHQ >>